Board of Education Regular School Board Meeting Southeast Valley Community School District Wednesday, July 19, 2023 Southeast Valley Central Office 6:30 PM

The joint regular meeting of the Board of Education of Prairie Valley, Southeast Webster Grand and Southeast Valley met in regular session.

President Miller called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM

Roll Call:

SV: Shannon Miller, Allen Wicklein, Katie VanSickle, Joni Hefley, Jim Carlson, Sean Stewart and Jeff Ackerson

Absent: None

Public Participation: No public participants.

Motion by Wicklein seconded by Hefley to approve the consent agenda items, including the agenda, minutes, open enrollment applications, financials as presented and bills.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

School Improvement Advisory Committee – Nothing to report at this time. Facilities and Grounds – Things are progressing toward getting ready for school Public Relations – Nothing to report at this time.

Transportation – Nothing to report at this time.

Jaguar Jubilations:

Motion by Carlson seconded by VanSickle to approve the financials as presented.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Stewart, seconded by Ackerson to approve the resignation of Stacey Goeders

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Hefley, seconded by VanSickle to approve the hiring of Xavier Nichols as Jr. High Football Coach.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Navs: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Carlson, seconded by Wicklein to approve an additional contract for extra duties of \$9500.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Stewart, seconded by Hefley to approve the hiring of Jessica Boone as teacher.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Hefley, seconded by Wicklein to approve the hiring of Jesseca Pirie as Central Office Central Office.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by VanSickle, seconded by Carlson to approve the hiring of Sara Ball as associate.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Hefley, seconded by Ackerson to approve the hiring of Amy Maguire as part time Instructional Coach.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Hefley, seconded by Ackerson to approve the hiring of Lonnie Holder as High School Secretary.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Stewart, seconded by Hefley to approve the 2023-2024 Staff Handbook.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

The 2023-2024 Student Handbook was reviewed by the Board.

Motion by VabSucjke, seconded by Wicklein to approve the Education Goals for 2023-2024. The approved goal is "All students wil show growth in all curricular areas as measured by standardized or district assessments."

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Carlson, seconded by Ackerson to approve Pay App#4 for the HVAC project.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Wicklein, seconded by Carlson to approve stipends of \$1500 to teachers that supervise student teachers for FY 2023-2024.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by, seconded by to approve the

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Stewart, seconded by VanSickle to approve the Emergency Operation Plan Renewal.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Wicklein, seconded by Hefley to approve Ordering election on the question of continuing to levy and impose a voter approved physical plant and equipment property tax and income surtax.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Carlson, seconded by Stewart to approve the Gowrie News as the Official Publication of Southeast Valley Schools.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Hefley, seconded by VanSickle to approve the designation of legal counsel as Alhers, Cooney and the depository institution as Security Savings Bank with a limit of 25 million and Heartland Bank with a limit of 2 million.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Wicklein, seconded by Stewart to approve going into closed session as provided by Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(e) to review records required by state or federal law to be kept confidential as provided by Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(a). To discuss student explosion.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Wicklein, seconded by Stewart to re-enter open session. Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday, August 23, 2023 in the Burnside Building

Motion by VanSickle, seconded by Hefley to adjourn.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, VanSickle, Hefley, Carlson, Stewart, Ackerson

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0