Board of Education Special School Board Meeting Southeast Valley Community School District Wednesday, April 12, 2024 Southeast Valley Central Office 6:30 PM

A public hearing for the second and final presentation of the FY 2025 Budget, was held in the Southeast Valley Central Office, 1111 Beek Street, Gowrie, Iowa, on April 12, 2024, at 6:20 PM.

No public comments or questions occurred.

The Board of Education of Southeast Valley Community School District met in a regular session. President Miller called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM

Roll Call:

SV: Shannon Miller, Allan Wicklein, Katie VanSickle, Sean Stewart, Joni Hefley, Jim Carlson,

Jeff Ackerson Absent: None

Public Participation: None at this time.

A group of parents is wanting to do a staff appreciation initiative and is looking for the support of the Board. The Board is in agreement to support the initiative.

The Negotiations Committee will meet Saturday Morningto disucss contracts for teachers.

Motion by Wicklein, seconded by Hefely to approve the consent agenda items, including the agenda and personnel as presented.

Personnel included the following:

The approval of the employee contracts for Tamara Norman for MS Teacher, Steve Kehoe as assistant HS Volleyball coach. The acceptance of the resignation of Hope Morken as MS Teacher as well as MS Track coach, the resignation of Nolan Johnson as MS Boy's Basketball Coach.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, Stewart, Carlson, Hefley, Ackerson, VanSickle

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Wicklein, seconded by Ackerson to approve the modifications to the 2023-2024 calendar. The last day of school will be Friday, May 24th. Teachers will not be mandated to return the Tuesday following Memorial Day.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, Stewart, Carlson, Hefley, Ackerson, VanSickle

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by VanSickle, seconded by Hefley, to approve closing open enrollment applications that require IEP's due to impacted Special Education programs, as well as open enrollment in full class levels as presented.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, Stewart, Carlson, Hefley, Ackerson, VanSickle

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Carlson, seconded by VanSickle to approve the milk and bread bids for FY 2025. The milk bid will be awarded to A&E and the bread bid is awarded to Bimbo.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, Carlson, Hefley, Ackerson, VanSickle

Nays: None Abstain: Stewart, Motion carries 6-0

Motion by Wicklein, seconded by Ackerson to approve the Class of 2024 Graduates as presented.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, Stewart, Carlson, Hefley, Ackerson, VanSickle

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Wicklein, seconded by Stewart to approve the Middle School student summer school project program. This is the same program as last year, being supervised by Mr. Butrick.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, Stewart, Carlson, Hefley, Ackerson, VanSickle

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Carlson, seconded by VanSickle to approve FY 2025 Budget Guarantee resolution.

RESOLVED, that the Board of Directors of Southeast Valley Community School District will levy property tax for fiscal year 2023-2024 for the regular program budget adjustment as allowed under section 257.14, Code of Iowa.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, Stewart, Carlson, Hefley, Ackerson, VanSickle

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Carlson, seconded by Stewart to approve the TLC Instructional Coach positions for the 2024-2025 school year as presented.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, Stewart, Carlson, Hefley, Ackerson, VanSickle

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Hefley, seconded by VanSickle to approve Dayton Gym Lease as presented.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, Stewart, Carlson, Hefley, Ackerson, VanSickle

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Hefley, seconded by VanSickle to approve the Fiscal Year 2025 Annual Budget as presented.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, Stewart, Carlson, Hefley, Ackerson, VanSickle

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Wicklein, seconded by Carlson to go into closed session under Iowa Code 21.5(i), for the evaluation of the Superintendent.

Roll Call Vote:

Miller - Aye

Wicklein – Aye

VanSickle – Aye

Carlson - Aye

Hefley – Aye Ackerson – Aye Stewart – Aye Motion carries 7-0

Motion by Carlson, seconded by Stewart to enter back into open session.

Roll Call Vote:

Miller - Aye

Wicklein - Aye

VanSickle – Aye

Carlson – Aye

Hefley – Aye

Ackerson – Aye

Stewart – Aye

Motion carries 7-0

The May meeting will be Wednesday, May 22, 2024 at 6:30 PM at the Central Office. It was discussed that the June meeting may be done via teleconference.

Motion by Wicklein, seconded by Carlson to adjourn.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, Stewart, Carlson, Hefley, Ackerson, VanSickle

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0

Motion by VanSickle, seconded by Wicklein to adjourn.

Ayes: Miller, Wicklein, Stewart, Carlson, Hefley, Ackerson, VanSickle

Nays: None

Motion carries 7-0