## TRANSPORTATION TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE MINUTES January 5, 2022

The January 5, 2022, meeting of the Transportation Technical Advisory Committee was called to order at 9:00 a.m. virtually online through YouTube and Google Meet. A quorum was present, with the following members in attendance:

MEMBERS PRESENT:	David Armstrong (for Doug Burgess) – INDOT, Fort Wayne District Ryan Clussman – City of Elkhart Ryan Fellows – St. Joseph County APC Amy Hill – Transpo Bill Holder – Kosciusko County GIS Natasha Kauffmann – Elkhart County Planning Charles McKenzie – Elkhart County Highway Sky Medors – St. Joseph County Public Works Steve Moriarty – Kosciusko County Highway Jason Peters – Marshall County Julie Ritzler (for Jessica Miller) – INDOT, LaPorte District Derek Spier – City of Mishawaka Sean Surrisi – City of Plymouth Justin Taylor – City of Warsaw Planning Brent Warren – City of Nappanee Ty Adley – Marshall County Plan Commission
MEMBERS ABSENT:	Josh Corwin – City of Goshen Chris Dressel – City of South Bend Chris Jamrose – City of Mishawaka Marsha McSherry – Kosciusko County Administrator Mike Daigle – South Bend International Airport Doug Burgess – INDOT Fort Wayne District Kara Boyles, City of South Bend Mike Daigle, South Bend International Airport Jessica Miller, INDOT, LaPorte District
OTHERS PRESENT:	Zach Dripps – MACOG Sofia Gladun - MACOG Carla Herwarth – MACOG Allyson Ragan - MACOG Ashley Matthews – MACOG Dustin New – MACOG Donny Ritsema – MACOG Kyle Silveus – City of South Bend James Turnwald - MACOG Amber Werner - MACOG Johnnie Woggon – MACOG

### **MINUTES OF THE DECEMBER 1, 2021 TTAC MEETING**

There were no corrections to the December 1, 2021, minutes.

## A MOTION WAS MADE BY BRENT WARREN AND SECONDED BY DAVID ARMSTRONG TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF DECEMBER 1, 2021. THE MOTION CARRIED.

## **CHAIRMAN'S REPORT**

Nominating Committee Report - Election of 2022 TTAC Officers James Turnwald stated that Sky Medors and Ty Adley stepped up to help in the nominating process for 2022 officers. The committee talked to the present officers and they agreed to continue for 2022. The slate of officers for 2022 is Chair - Amy Hill, 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair - Brent Warren, and 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair - Steve Moriarty with the TTAC's approval.

> A MOTION WAS MADE BY RYAN FELLOWS AND SECONDED BY BRENT WARREN TO APPROVE THE SLATE OF OFFICERS FOR 2022. THE MOTION CARRIED

### SECRETARY"S REPORT

James Turnwald noted that staff made a few Administrative Modifications to the TIP in December.

### **OLD BUSINESS**

There was no old business.

#### NEW BUSINESS

Amendments to the State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020-2024 and SFY 2022-2026 Transportation Improvement Programs (TIPs)

### **Transportation Resolution 01-22**

### **Locally Initiated**

A. City of Sout	th Bend	Amendment Exempt Project in St. Joseph Coun			County	
Resolution 01	I-22 II	Increase Federal Funding by \$301,028				
Des#: 1902178 Olive Street from Indiana Court to Tucker Drive (Phase II)						
Road Reconstruction						
Phase: CN	Total: \$1	,563,785	Federal: \$1,251,02	8	Local: \$312,757	SFY 2022
Estimated Cost to Complete = \$1,683,785						

### **INDOT Initiated**

B. INDOT	<u>A</u>	<u>mendment</u>	Exempt Project in Kosciusko	ot Project in Kosciusko County			
Resolution 01	-22 Add Proje	ct to TIP					
Des#: 2001533 East of CR 400 W to South of CR 200 S – High Friction Surface							
Treatment							
Other Type Project (Miscellaneous)							
Phase: CN	Total: \$537,055	Federal: \$429,644	4 Local: \$107,411	SFY 2023			
Estimated Cost to Complete = \$637,055							

C. INDOT Amendment **Exempt Project in Elkhart County** Resolution 01-22 Add Project to TIP Des#: 1902014 Various Locations within the Fort Wayne District, New or Slotted Left Turn **Auxiliary Lanes, Accel & Decel or Turn Lanes** Phase: PE Total: \$237,700 Federal: \$190,160 Local: \$47,540 SFY 2022 Total: \$1,696,608 Phase: CN Federal: \$1,357,286 Local: \$339,322 SFY 2024

Estimated Cost to Complete = \$1,934,308

Allyson Ragan presented Resolution 01-22, asked for any questions and then asked for an endorsement.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY RYAN FELLOWS AND SECONDED BY TY ADLEY TO APPROVE RESOLUTION 01-22. THE MOTION CARRIED.

# Staff Update

## **New MACOG Staff**

- <u>Sofia Gladun, Community Development Planner</u>
  Sofia gave a brief introduction of herself and the duties she will have at MACOG.
- <u>Dustin New, Active Transportation Planner</u>
  Dustin gave a brief introduction of himself and what his duties will be at MACOG.

## **Grants and Funding**

- <u>Community Crossing Matching Grant (CCMG)</u> Closes January 28 Allyson informed the members that the CCMG opened January 3 and closes January 28 to get applications in. She said these pertain to construction road and bridge projects and specific ADA curb and sidewalk work. The match for this is based on 2020 census numbers. Along with an application, a financial commitment letter, detailed cost estimates, and an approved asset management plan must be submitted.
- Indiana State Department of Health (IDOH) Planning Grant for Bicycle and <u>Pedestrian Master Plans</u> – Due January 20 Dustin New stated this was recently announced and due January 20. The biggest highlight is that there are no matching funds for communities under ten thousand.
- <u>INDOT Rural Call for Projects Presentations</u> Allyson continued by saying that all applications were accepted and will now be required to give a presentation regarding their projects. LaPorte will do theirs on January 20 and Fort Wayne on February 1.

# **Plans and Programs**

 <u>Regional Freight Mobility Plan Update</u> Allyson said this focuses on ways to enhance freight mobility within our region. She stated that for the last couple of months MACOG has been focusing on stakeholder engagement activates for private and public input. Then they will on to needs assessment to identify items for improvement in our region. She told the members the consultant will be giving a presentation at the next TTAC meeting.

Regional Comprehensive Operational Analysis (COA) Update James Turnwald stated that in January there will be more public announcements regarding CONNECT. It will be a focus on how public transit works, missed opportunities and where there is room for improvements. It will involve the public and elected officials in the community on how money will best spent on public transit.

James then let the members know that while Caitlin is out on leave; they will be able to address other members of the MACOG staff if they have any needs.

#### **PRIVILEGE OF THE FLOOR**

There was no comments from the Committee.

#### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

There were no public comments in advance and no comments on the live stream.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further comments or items of business, the Chair called for a motion to adjourn the Transportation Technical Advisory Committee meeting.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY TY ADLEY AND SECONDED BY RYAN FELLOWS TO ADJOURN THE TTAC MEETING. THE MOTION CARRIED.

James Turnwald, Executive Director

Amy Hill, TTAC Chair