TRANSPORTATION TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE MINUTES November 3, 2021

The November 3, 2021, meeting of the Transportation Technical Advisory Committee was called to order at 9:00 a.m. virtually online through YouTube and Google Meet. A quorum was present, with the following members in attendance:

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Ty Adley – Marshall County Plan Commission David Armstrong - INDOT Josh Corwin – City of Goshen Ryan Fellows – St. Joseph County APC Bill Holder – Kosciusko County GIS Marsha McSherry – Kosciusko County Administrator Sky Medors – St. Joseph County Public Works Jessica Miller – INDOT, LaPorte District Jason Peters – Marshall County Dustin Sailor – City of Goshen Kyle Silveus – City of South Bend Derek Spier – City of Mishawaka Brent Warren – City of Nappanee
MEMBERS ABSENT:	Doug Burgess – INDOT Fort Wayne District Ryan Clussman – City of Elkhart Chris Dressel – City of South Bend Danielle Garlington – City of Elkhart Rick Gaul – City of Plymouth Amy Hill – Transpo Chris Jamrose – City of Mishawaka Natasha Kauffmann – Elkhart County Planning Charles McKenzie – Elkhart County Highway Steve Moriarty – Kosciusko County Highway Angela Nicholson – INDOT, Fort Wayne District Tim O'Donnell – South Bend International Airport Tom Rushlow – Elkhart County Highway Justin Taylor – City of Warsaw Planning
OTHERS PRESENT:	Zach Dripps – MACOG Sofia Gladun - MACOG Carla Herwarth - MACOG Alaina Parrish – MACOG Allyson Ragan - MACOG Ashley Matthews – MACOG Donny Ritsema - MACOG Caitlin Stevens – MACOG Erica Tait – Federal Highway Amber Werner - MACOG Johnnie Woggon – MACOG

MINUTES OF THE OCTOBER 6, 2021 TTAC MEETING

There were no corrections to the October 6, 2021 minutes.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY TY ADLEY AND SECONDED BY KYLE SILVEUS TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF OCTOBER 6, 2021. THE MOTION CARRIED.

REPORTS OF CHAIR AND SECRETARY

Caitlin Stevens gave an explanation of the October Administrative Modifications.

OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business.

NEW BUSINESS

Amendments to the State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020-2024 and SFY 2022-2026 Transportation Improvement Programs (TIPs)

Transportation Resolution 38-21

Locally Initiated

A. City of Gosł	nen	<u>Amendment</u>	Exempt Project in Elkhart County						
Resolution 38	-21	Add Project to	o TIP						
Des#: 210163	81	Pedestrian Bridge over Horn Ditch							
Bike/Pedestrian Facilities									
Phase: CN	Total:	\$329,758	Federal: \$2	63,806 (STBG)		Local: \$65,952	SFY	Y 2025	
Estimated Cos	st to Con	plete: \$329,75	58						

Allyson Ragan presented Resolution 38-21, asked if there were any questions, and then asked for the endorsement of Resolution 38-21.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY DAVID ARMSTRONG AND SECONDED BY TY ADLEY TO APPROVE RESOLUTION 38-21. THE MOTION CARRIED.

Other Actions

Resolution 39-21

A Resolution Endorsing an EPA Brownfields Grant Application

Allyson Ragan presented Resolution 39-21. She stated that this grant could be used for environmental assessment, just not for the cleanup itself. Allyson asked if there were any questions and she would try to answer them or redirect them to Leah Thill. With no questions, Allyson then asked for the endorsement of Resolution 39-21.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY TY ADLEY AND SECONDED BY BILL HOLDER TO APPROVE RESOLUTION 39-21. THE MOTION CARRIED.

Staff Update

 New MACOG Staff Member – Amber Werner, AmeriCorps Program Director Caitlin introduced Amber Werner. Amber greeted the TTAC members. She then stated that the AmeriCorps grant was submitted yesterday and that it would go into effect in February of 2022.

Grants and Funding

° INDOT Rural Transportation Call for Projects – Opens November 1

Allyson stated this call closed December 3. It is for projects going to construction in 2027 and requires a twenty percent match.

° Community Crossing Matching Grant (CCMG) – Opens January 3

Allyson continued with the Community Crossing matching grant which closes at the end of the month. She stated that to be eligible for this grant you must have an Asset Management Plan. Those can be submitted by December 1. Another requirement is that any projects that were awarded funding in the first round in 2020 must be closed out before this process.

° OCRA Planning Grant Quarter 4 – Due by November 12

Donny Ritsema stated the goal of this grant is for the local communities to plan for their long term community development and stability.

° OCRA CDBG Round 2 – Due by December 17

Donny continued with Round 2 for use of community block grants. They can be used to improve communities' stormwater, drinking water and wastewater programs. No proposals have been received from our region.

° Next Level Trails Grant Round 3 – Due by December 1

Alaina stated these are due by December 1 by 5:00 pm. They are for multiuse trails with a twenty percent match.

Plans and Programs

° Virtual Active Living Workshop

This is a three part virtual workshop hosted by Indiana Health by design and INDOT. The first module is Thursday.

° League Cycling Instructor (LCI) Training Recap

Alaina stated that seven people were trained and passed to be able to teach bicycle safety and maintenance to all ages.

° Regional Freight Plan Update

Caitlin provided a primer for the Regional Freight Mobility Plan. She stated that the consultants will be hosting listening sessions and then meet with stakeholders

to answer questions. It will highlight the challenges and opportunities in our region for freight. Caitlin went into the background of the intent of freight mobility and its effect on communities. She showed a listing of these sessions. Caitlin ended with some of the next steps after this is done and showed a project schedule.

° Disaster Recovery and Economic Resiliency Plan Update

Donny explained how MACOG and Fourth Economy have been working together with community leaders on how to recover economically after a disaster.

^o Regional Comprehensive Operational Analysis (COA)

Zach stated that this is a collaborative work with Transpo on how to serve our region better. The consultant will be at our Policy Board meeting virtually to explain the goals and outlines of the project. They will then come into town the following week to do a tour and meet with stakeholders.

VII. Privilege of the Floor

There was no privilege of the floor.

VIII. Public Comment

There were no public comments.

IX. Adjournment

A MOTION WAS MADE BY RYAN FELLOWS AND SECONDED BY TY ADLEY TO ADJOURN THE TTAC MEETING. THE MOTION CARRIED.

James Turnwald, Executive Director

Amy_Hill, TTAC Chair

F:\ABC\MACOG\MEETINGS\SFY 2022\TTAC\Minutes\R1103minutes.docx