# TRANSPORTATION TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE MINUTES September 2, 2020

The September 2, 2020, meeting of the Transportation Technical Advisory Committee was called to order at 9:00 a.m. virtually online through YouTube and Google Meet. A quorum was present, with the following members in attendance:

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Ty Adley – Marshall County Plan Commission

David Armstrong - INDOT, Fort Wayne District

Jessica Clark – St. Joseph County Ryan Fellows – St. Joseph County APC Chris Dressel – City of South Bend

Amy Hill - Transpo

Bill Holder – Kosciusko County GIS Chris Jamrose – City of Mishawaka

Natasha Kauffmann – Elkhart County Planning Steve Moriarty – Kosciusko County Highway Tim O'Donnell – South Bend International Airport Charles McKenzie – Elkhart County Highway

Marsha McSherry - Kosciusko County Administrator

Kyle Silveus – City of South Bend Derek Spier – City of Mishawaka Brent Warren – City of Nappanee

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** Josh Corwin – City of Goshen

Rick Gaul - City of Plymouth

Danielle Garlington – City of Elkhart Michael Machlan – City of Elkhart Jason Peters – Marshall County

Julie Ritzler – INDOT, LaPorte District Jeremy Skinner – City of Warsaw Dustin Sailor – City of Goshen

OTHERS PRESENT: Ryan DeLine - MACOG

Zach Dripps – MACOG Carla Herwarth – MACOG Alaina Parrish - MACOG Donald Ritzema - MACOG Caitlin Stevens – MACOG Leah Thill - MACOG

James Turnwald - MACOG Johnnie Woggon - MACOG

#### **MINUTES OF THE AUGUST 5, 2020 MEETING**

There were no corrections to the August 5, 2020 minutes.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY RYAN FELLOWS AND SECONDED BY TIM O'DONNELL TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF AUGUST 5, 2020. THE MOTION CARRIED.

## **REPORTS OF CHAIR AND SECRETARY**

The Chair had no report.

The Secretary reported there were Administrative Modifications, small technical changes to the TIP, made by staff during the month of August 2020. A list of modifications was provided to the members and is available on the MACOG website.

#### **OLD BUSINESS**

There was no old business.

VI. New Business

Amendments to the State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020-2024 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

## **Fort Wayne District**

## **INDOT Initiated - Resolution 35-20**

A. INDOT <u>Amendment</u> Exempt Project in Elkhart County

Resolution 35-20 Add Project to TIP

Des#: 1800045 SR 119, 1.35 miles East of SR 19 (CR 7)

**Intersection Improvement** 

Phase: PE Total: \$420,000 Federal: \$336,000 (STBG) State: \$84,000 SFY 2022 Phase: RW Total: \$100,000 Federal: \$80,000 (STBG) State: \$20,000 SFY 2024

B. INDOT <u>Amendment</u> Exempt Project in Elkhart County

Resolution 35-20 Add Project to TIP

Des#: 2000024 SR 15 at CR 146, 3.06 miles north of US 6

Intersection Improvement w/ Added Turn Lanes

Phase: PE Total: \$213,000 Federal: \$170,400 (STBG) State: \$42,600 SFY 2022

Ryan DeLine presented Resolution 35-20, which he stated both projects were INDOT initiated. Ryan stated that project A is being developed to reduce right angle collisions at the intersection and that project B is being developed to reduce congestion on SR 15 near the town of New Paris.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY BRENT WARREN AND SECONDED BY RYAN FELLOWS TO APPROVE RESOLUTION 35-20. THE MOTION CARRIED.

## **La Porte District**

## **Locally Initiated - Resolution 36-20**

A. St. Joseph Amendment Non Exempt Project in St. Joseph County

Resolution 36-20 Delete Project from TIP

Des#: 1900506 **Douglas Road from Ivy to SR 23 Corridor** 

**Add Travel Lanes** 

Phase: CN Total: \$(4,625,000) Federal: \$(3,700,000) (STBG) Local: \$(925,000) SFY 2021

B. St. Joseph Amendment Non Exempt Project in St. Joseph County

Resolution 36-20 Increase Funding

Des#: 1400639 **Douglas Rd from Ivy to SR 23 including intersection at Ironwood** 

**Added Travel Lanes** 

Phase: CN Total: \$13,295,000 Federal: \$10,630,000 (STBG) Local: \$2,665,000 SFY 2021

Ryan presented Resolution 36-20, explaining that both items deal with upcoming Douglas Road improvements. He further explained the action of the two amendments as moving the federal match from Des 1900506 to 1400639 in order to reduce the number of contracts. James Turnwald explained that they first thought they would do them in two separate years to be able to provide funding for the project as a whole. However, it turned out that they could be done together in the same year.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY RYAN FELLOWS AND SECONDED BY DAVID ARMSTRONG TO APPROVE RESOLUTION 36-20. THE MOTION CARRIED.

#### **Other Items**

#### Resolution 37-20

Amendment to the 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan to modify an existing project on McKinley Avenue from Division Street to Elder Road, in the City of Mishawaka, and to amend in an analysis of the potential future impacts of connected and autonomous vehicles to the transportation network.

Caitlin Stevens told the members that this resolution would modify McKinley Ave. to Elder Road. The second part then would amend in an analysis of the future impact of impacted and autonomous vehicles.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY DEREK SPIER AND SECONDED BY KYLE SILVEOUS TO APPROVE RESOLUTION 37-20. THE MOTION CARRIED.

## **Staff Update**

- Regional Brownfields Coalition Update -Leah Thill said the Regional Public meeting would be on September 22 on zoom with both a morning and afternoon session. There is a registration link on the MACOGazette newsletter or on MACOG's website. The focus will be on Warsaw and Elkhart.
- Regional Bike and Pedestrian Trail Counters
   Alaina Parrish stated that seven trail counters have been installed, with more to be

installed and purchased for Marshall and Kosciusko County.

- MACOG Call for Projects Caitlin let the members know that there will be a MACOG Call for Projects this year. She stated it would probably be in October. Jessica Clark asked if urban bridges would be included, David Armstrong stated that they would not include urban bridges this year. INDOT's call will open November 2nd and closing on December 11. Applications will be due by December 11 at five pm.
- SFY 2020 Annual Listing of Obligated Projects (ALOP) Ryan DeLine said that staff had completed the Annual Listing of Annual Projects. He went on to say there were projects that had monies obligated to them in state fiscal year 2020 in all four of the counties MACOG serves. Elkhart County had 10 projects with obligations, Kosciusko County had 3, Marshall County had 6 and St. Joseph County had 9.

## Privilege of the Floor

There was no privilege of the floor.

#### **Public Comment**

There were no public comments submitted. James did explain that MACOG invites members of the public to join the meeting via YouTube and can submit comments to macogdir@macog.com in advance of the meeting.

## Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Committee, the following action was taken.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY TY ADLEY AND SECONDED BY TIM O'DONNELL TO ADJOURN THE TTAC MEETING. THE MOTION CARRIED.

James Turnwald, Executive Director

Jenea V Close Jo Jessica Clark, TTAC Chair