TRANSPORTATION TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE MINUTES June 3, 2020

The June 3, 2020, meeting of the Transportation Technical Advisory Committee was called to order at 9:00 a.m. virtually online through YouTube and Google Meets. A quorum was present, with the following members in attendance:

MEMBERS PRESENT: Ty Adley – Marshall County Plan Commission

David Armstrong - INDOT, Fort Wayne

Jessica Clark – St Joseph County Josh Corwin – City of Goshen

Ryan Fellows - St. Joseph County APC

Rick Gaul - City of Plymouth

Amy Hill - Transpo

Bill Holder - Kosciusko County GIS

Natasha Kauffmann - Elkhart County Planning

Charles McKenzie – Elkhart County Jessica Miller – INDOT LaPorte

Steve Moriarty – Koscuisko County Highway Tim O'Donnell – South Bend International Airport

Jason Peters – Marshall County Derek Spier – City of Mishawaka Brent Warren – City of Nappanee

MEMBERS ABSENT: Chris Dressel – City of South Bend

Chris Jamrose – City of Mishawaka Michael Machlan – City of Elkhart

Marsha McSherry - Kosciusko County Administrator

Julie Ritzler – INDOT – LaPorte Dustin Sailor – City of Goshen Kyle Silveus – City of South Bend Jeremy Skinner – City of Warsaw

OTHERS PRESENT: Jeremiah Cox - MACOG

Ryan DeLine – MACOG Zach Dripps – MACOG

Sky Medors – St Joseph County

Joyce Newland – INDOT Danielle – Unknown Unknown - Unknown Alaina Parrish – MACOG Donald Ritzema - MACOG Caitlin Stevens – MACOG James Turnwald - MACOG Johnnie Woggon – MACOG

MINUTES OF THE MAY 6, 2020 MEETING

There were no additions or corrections to the minutes of May 6, 2020.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY DAVID ARMSTRONG AND SECONDED BY BRENT WARREN TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MAY 6, 2020. THE MOTION CARRIED.

REPORTS OF CHAIR AND SECRETARY

James Turnwald gave a brief reiteration of what an Administrative Modification is. Explaining to the members that they are small changes made to the Transportation Improvement Program, such as funding amounts and additions and deletions of projects. A list of Administrative Modifications made by staff were sent to the members in advance of the meeting.

OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business.

Fort Wayne District

Locally Initiated - Resolution 25-20

Resolution 25-20 Remove Project from TIP

Des#: 1801613 **US 33, from Fairfield to Plymouth Ave**

Auxiliary Lanes

Phase: PE Total: \$206,300 Federal: \$165,040 (CMAQ) Local: \$41,260 SFY 2020 Phase: CN Total: \$825,200 Federal: \$660,160 (CMAQ) Local: \$165,040 SFY 2023

Ryan DeLine explained the removal of this project from the TIP and asked for questions. There being no questions he asked for an endorsement of Resolution 25-20

A MOTION WAS MADE BY TIMOTHY O'DONNELL AND SECONDED BY RYAN FELLOWS TO APPROVE RESOLUTION 25-20. THE MOTION CARRIED.

LaPorte District

INDOT Initiated - Resolution 26-20

A. INDOT Amendment Exempt Project in Marshall County

Resolution 26-20 Add Project to TIP

Des#: 2000611 SR 10, from SR 117 to US 31

HMA Overlay, Preventative Maintenance

Phase: PE Total: \$547,000 Federal: \$437,600 (ST STBG) State: \$109,400 SFY 2021

Phase: CN Total: \$3,778,579 Federal: \$3,022,863 (ST STBG) State: \$755,716 SFY 22, 23, & 24

B. INDOT <u>Amendment</u> Exempt Project in Marshall County

Resolution 26-20 Add Project to TIP

Des#: 2000615 **SR 10, from SR 17 E. Jct. to SR 117**

HMA Overlay, Preventative Maintenance

Phase: PE Total: \$250,000 Federal: \$200,000 (ST STBG) State: \$50,000 SFY 21 & 24 Phase: CN Total: \$459,956 Federal: \$367,965 (ST STBG) State: \$91,991 SFY 23 & 24

Ryan DeLine told the members about the addition of two projects into the TIP and asked for questions. There being no questions he asked for an endorsement of Resolution 26-20

A MOTION WAS MADE BY TY ADLEY AND SECONDED BY NATASHA KAUFFMAN TO APPROVE RESOLUTION 26-20. THE MOTION CARRIED.

Staff Update

° EDA CARES Act Funding

Donny Ritsema told the members that the CARES Act funding was \$1.5 Billion dollars.

James Turnwald continued telling the members this is a historical opportunity to get funding for infrastructure, cell tower, etc. projects put through. He stated that the funding in the past has been 50/50, with local match and that now it is 80/20.

° FHWA FTA MPO Certification Review Online Listening Sessions – June 16 and 17

Caitlin Stevens explained how the FHWA and FTA MPO Recertification would be virtual giving the public an opportunity for comment. Caitlin informed members that June 16 would have a five to six o'clock time slot and June 17 would be from two to three o'clock for this, as well as, online comments could be made by going to the MACOG.com website under Recent News or Facebook.

Middlebury 2030 Comprehensive Plan Update

Donny Ritsema stated that the last Middlebury Comprehensive Plan was made in 2011. The new draft would be refining what the Town of Middlebury has always envisioned for themselves.

Next Level Trails Update

Alaina let the members know that all funding has been suspended for Phase 2 and 3 of the next level trails. She stated that the funding was not available anymore, but hopes in the future it will come back.

° Quarterly Tracking and Review Meeting – June 30

Caitlin informed the members that the next Quarterly Tracking would take place virtually June 30.

James Turnwald then encouraged the TTAC members to join the Certification Review. James also stated that typically, the annual Livable Communities workshop is held in July, but this year it would be cancelled.

P	r	i	v	i	le	35	76	•	0	f	t	h	e	F	1	o	0	r	•

There was no privilege of the floor.

Public Comment

There was no public comment.

Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Committee, the following action was taken.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY RYAN TIMOTHY O'DONNELL AND SECONDED BY TY ADLEY TO ADJOURN THE TTAC MEETING. THE MOTION CARRIED.

James Turnwald, Executive Director

Jessica Clark, TTAC Chair