# TRANSPORTATION TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE MINUTES December 4, 2019

The December 4, 2019, meeting of the Transportation Technical Advisory Committee was called to order at 9:00 a.m. in the MACOG Conference Room on the 11<sup>th</sup> Floor of the County-City Building in South Bend, Indiana. A quorum was present, with the following members in attendance:

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Ty Adley – Marshall County Plan Commission

David Armstrong - INDOT, Fort Wayne

Leslie Biek - City of Goshen

Chris Dressel – City of South Bend Ryan Fellows – St. Joseph County APC

Amy Hill – Transpo

Bill Holder – Kosciusko County GIS Roger Nawrot – City of South Bend Kent Schumacher – Elkhart County Brent Warren – City of Nappanee

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** Jessica Clark – St Joseph County

Rick Gaul – City of Plymouth Chris Jamrose – City of Mishawaka

Natasha Kauffman - Elkhart County Planning

Michael Machlan - City of Elkhart

Marsha McSherry - Kosciusko County Administrator

Jessica Miller - INDOT LaPorte

Tim O'Donnell – South Bend International Airport

Jason Peters – Marshall County Jeremy Skinner – City of Warsaw Derek Spier – City of Mishawaka

Scott Tilden – Kosciusko County Highway

**OTHERS PRESENT:** Jeremiah Cox - MACOG

Ryan DeLine – MACOG Zach Dripps - MACOG Sky Medors – St Joseph Co

Joyce Newland - INDOT (on the phone)

Alaina Parrish - MACOG

Kyle Silveus - City of South Bend

Caitlin Stevens – MACOG Leah Thill - MACOG

Johnnie Woggon - MACOG

### **MINUTES OF THE November 6, 2019 MEETING**

There were no additions or corrections to the minutes of November 6, 2019.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY KENT SCHUMACHER AND SECONDED BY TY ADLEY TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF NOVEMBER 6, 2019. THE MOTION CARRIED.

### **REPORTS OF CHAIRMAN AND SECRETARY**

TTAC CHAIRMAN - No report.

**TTAC SECRETARY** – Zach stated that Leslie Biek and Ty Adley had already volunteered to be on the nominating committee for calendar year 2020 TTAC officers. Zach asked if anyone else wanted to be on the committee, but there was no response.

### **OLD BUSINESS**

There was no old business.

### **NEW BUSINESS**

Amendments to the State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020-2024 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

### **INDOT Initiated - Resolution 52-19**

A. INDOT <u>Amendment</u> Exempt Project in Elkhart County

Resolution 52-19 Add Project to TIP

Des#: 1902645 SR 120 from RRXING to SR 120 west junction

**Pavement Replacement** 

 Phase: PE
 Total: \$34,000
 Federal: \$27,200 (ST STBG)
 State: \$6,800
 SFY 2020

 Phase: RW
 Total: \$50,000
 Federal: \$40,000 (ST STBG)
 State: \$10,000
 SFY 2023

 Phase: CN
 Total: \$5,177,252
 Federal: \$4,141,802 (ST STBG)
 State: \$1,035,450
 SFY 23 & 24

B. INDOT Amendment Exempt Project in Elkhart County

Resolution 52-19 Add Project to TIP

Des#: 1902646 SR 15 RRXING to SR 120 west junction

**Pavement Replacement** 

Phase: PE Total: \$165,000 Federal: \$132,000 (ST STBG) State: \$33,000 SFY 2020 Phase: RW Total: \$25,000 Federal: \$20,000 (ST STBG) State: \$5,000 SFY 2023 Phase: CN Total: \$1,491,390 Federal: \$1,193,112 (ST STBG) State: \$298,278 SFY 23 & 24

Ryan DeLine presented Resolution 52-19 and asked if there were any questions. There being none, he asked for the endorsement of Resolution 52-19.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY ROGER NAWROT AND SECONDED BY DAVID ARMSTRONG TO APPROVE RESOLUTION 52-19. THE MOTION CARRIED.

## **Staff Update**

## • Quarterly Tracking January 7th

Ryan DeLine informed the members that the next Quarterly Tracking date is set for January 7 and that Quarterly Tracking forms are due by December 31, 2019.

## • Regional Brownfields Coalition Update

Leah shared that MACOG entered into a contract with Metric Environmental, who partnered with Roberts Environmental, to implement the EPA Brownfields Coalition Assessment grant over a 3-year period. She explained that MACOG encourages communities, stakeholders, and the public to submit Sites of Interest throughout the grant period. The regional working group will evaluate the sites monthly.

• IDEM Dieselwise Non-road Vehicle & Equipment Grant - Due December 20
Leah shared that no municipal non-road vehicles or equipment had been identified that would be eligible, primarily due to requirement that the annual operating hours be 1,000 hours per year or greater. Any community that has non-road equipment or vehicles that may meet this threshold should reach out soon to receive grant writing assistance through the Green Fleet program for this IDEM grant.

## • Interurban Trolley "CAN DO!"

Jeremiah Cox informed the members that "CAN DO" would begin December 9 and end December 14. He explained that the riders could donate a non-perishable food item as payment for one ride. This does not include the Transpo buses used on the Yellow Line.

• Indiana State Dept. of Health Bicycle & Pedestrian Master Plan Grant
Alaina Parrish reminded the members of the upcoming deadline for the Bicycle and
Pedestrian Master Plan Grant. She stated that applications are due by 4 pm on December
19, and can be for an individual community or a joint application between one or more
communities.

## Privilege of the Floor

Zach Dripps stated that the Draft copy Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy is now out for public comment and that there were several copies at the meeting for the members to look at. This is a requirement for MACOGs Economic Development District Status with EPA.

Ryan Fellows asked to have information about the Open House emailed to him.

David Armstrong mentioned that the rural call is close to coming to an end. He mentioned that one of the things he has noticed missing in project applications are maps.

Roger Nawrot informed the board that he is retiring and this was his last meeting. Roger will be working part time for Abonmarche. Roger also stated that Kyle Silveus would be replacing him.

### **Public Comment**

There were no Public Comments.

## Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Committee, the following action was taken.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY ROGER NAWROT AND SECONDED BY LESLIE BIEK TO ADJOURN THE TTAC MEETING. THE MOTION CARRIED.

James Turnwald, Executive Director

Jessica Clark, TTAC Chair