TRANSPORTATION TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE MINUTES August 1, 2018

The August 1, 2018 meeting of the Transportation Technical Advisory Committee was called to order at 9:00 a.m. in the MACOG Conference Room on the 11th Floor of the County-City Building in South Bend, Indiana. It was noted a quorum was present, with the following members in attendance:

MEMBERS PRESENT: Scott Tilden – Kosciusko County Highway Department

Marsha McSherry – Kosciusko County Administrator

Brent Warren – City of Nappanee

Ty Adley – Marshall County Plan Commission

Larry Magliozzi – St. Joseph County Area Plan Commission

Derek Spier – City of Mishawaka Jeff Taylor – Elkhart County Highway

Jason Peters – Marshall County

David Armstrong – INDOT, Fort Wayne

Amy Hill – Transpo

Tim O'Donnell – South Bend International Airport

Christian Brown – St Joseph County

Chris Dressel – South Bend Community Investment

MEMBERS ABSENT: Jessica Clark – St. Joseph County Engineering

Chris Godlewski – Elkhart County Planning

Leslie Biek – City of Goshen

Chris Jamrose – City of Mishawaka

Rick Gaul – City of Plymouth

Bill Holder – Kosciusko County GIS Michael Machlan – City of Elkhart Jeremy Skinner – City of Warsaw Roger Nawrot – City of South Bend

OTHERS PRESENT: Julie Ritzler – INDOT LaPorte

Kent Schumacher – Elkhart County Natasha Kauffmann – Elkhart County

Mitch Shirk – Creative Bus Sales

Zach Dripps – MACOG Caitlin Stevens – MACOG Ryan DeLine – MACOG Donny Ritsema – MACOG Alaina Parrish – MACOG Katie Domingues - MACOG Johnnie Woggon – MACOG

MINUTES OF THE JUNE 6, 2018 MEETING

There were no corrections to the minutes of June 6, 2018.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY LARRY MAGLIOZZI AND SECONDED BY DAVID ARMSTRONG TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF JUNE 6, 2018. THE MOTION CARRIED.

REPORTS OF CHAIRMAN AND SECRETARY

- **1. TTAC CHAIRMAN** No report.
- **2. TTAC SECRETARY** Zach mentioned July modifications were in members' packets and reminded the TTAC they are modifications to the TIP that are processed as they come in.

OLD BUSINESS

There was no Old Business.

NEW BUSINESS

Amendments to the Fiscal Year (SFY) 2018-2021 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

Fort Wayne District

INDOT Initiated – Resolution 22-18

	Small Structure - New	
Des#: 1800205	SR 331, 1.75 mi N of US 30	
Resolution 22-18	Add Project	Phase: PE
A. INDOT	<u>Amendment</u>	Exempt Project in Marshall County

Total: \$25,920 Federal: \$20,736 (ST STP) State: \$5,184 SFY: 2020

B. INDOT <u>Amendment</u> Exempt Project in St. Joseph County

Resolution 22-18 Add Project Phase: PE

Des#: 1801551 Kenilworth Rd over US 31 (MSE Wall Investigations)

Other Type Project

Total: \$3173,938 Federal: \$139,150 (ST STP) State: \$34,788 SFY: 2019

Ryan DeLine presented Resolution 22-18 containing LaPorte and Fort Wayne Districts INDOT initiated TIP amendments. There were no questions on this resolution. Ryan asked for the TTAC's endorsement of this resolution.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY DAVID ARMSTRONG AND SECONDED BY TIM O'DONNELL TO ENDORSE RESOLUTION 22-18. THE MOTION CARRIED.

Staff Update

New MACOG Staff Members

Katie Dominguez has joined the MACOG staff ats the Graphics and Communications Manager. She has relocated to the area from the State of Washington.

MACOG has added an Active Transportation Planner to the staff; Alaina Parrish. Alaina is a recent graduate of Ohio State University and is originally from Columbus, Ohio.

Michiana On the Move – Caitlin Stevens

MACOG is kicking off the Michiana On the Move 2045 transportation Plan. Stakeholder meetings took place in Elkhart and Kosciusko Counties on Tuesday, and with Marshall and St. Joseph County, the meetings taking place on Thursday. These meetings will collect feedback regarding how the Michiana area grows over the next 20 years, identifying different growth areas in commercial, residential, and industrial areas and how they impact transportation.

LimeBike Update – Caitlin Stevens

South Bend just celebrated one-year of LimeBikes in the South Bend area. There were over 42,000 unique riders with 600-900 bikes traveling over 280,000 trips.

The city also unveiled their Dockless Bike Share Parking areas. They plan to roll out more to try to address issues related to how people are parking the bikes. Comments were made regarding how the parking areas will be part of a solution. Elkhart now has a small amount of bikes at this time.

A question was asked if there was any incentive to have people park in these areas. Zach stated that the App will be noting these areas, and eventually there will be a bonus bike incentives offering free rides.

VW Settlement – Zach Dripps

Zach talked about the Volkswagen Mitigation Trust Program, which was the settlement established to offset the excess air pollution emitted by VW vehicles. The application process is still being finalized and Shawn Seals will be speaking at the Transpo administrative offices today to talk about the process.

Community Crossing and Local Trax Rail Overpass Program—Ryan DeLine

INDOT has two (2) grant opportunities available. The first is for Local Trax, a railroad overpass program. The MACOG region has four projects applying for the grant; City of Elkhart at Hively Ave. at Norfolk Southern, Elkhart County at Sunnyside and Concord Mall Dr. at Norfolk Southern, Kosciusko at E. 1300 Extension over Norfolk Southern and St Joseph County with Mishawaka has one at Douglas Road at Canadian National Railroad. Applications are due August 31st and Ryan is available to assist.

Community Crossings applications open Aug. 6 and close Sept. 28 at 05:00 pm. There is a new online application process, and Ryan or Donny from MACOG can help as they have had training on it. There are now two periods per year for applying – January and July. David Armstrong

stated everyone should have been contacted to close out their 2016 projects; if you haven't done so and don't have a letter of completion back; you are not eligible to apply. Also, if you owe money back to INDOT from 2016, it needs to be paid back in order to apply. In regards to the tracks, the Letters of Support have to be submitted with the application, nothing can be added afterwards.

PRIVILEGE OF THE FLOOR

A thank you was given to MACOG for helping Marshall County with power lines projects. The airport also thanked MACOG for their help.

PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no public comment.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Committee, the following action was taken.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY MARSHA MCSHERRY AND SECONDED BY TY ADLEY TO ADJOURN THE MEETING. THE MOTION CARRIED.

James Turnwald, Executive Director

Jassica Clark Chair